SEAT Automobiles Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All, got home today and found a fixed penalty notice on my old car, apparently for parking on a single yellow during a restricted period. My first ever ticket, and I'm quite gutted really. Two problems - one, there's no notice of restriction on our street that I can find (despite it having a single yellow) and two, I'm a resident, where else am I going to park? Any ideas how sucessful an appeal on my part would be?

Ta in advance :)

·
Registered
618 Posts
Not sure about the single yellow line rule. I thought you could only park on one form 6pm to 8am. However if theres no notice of restriction you should appeal and ask for evidence (unless its on thier website). The worse that will happen is that they say your appeal has been thrown out and you still have to pay the fine (which will still be the reduced amount).

·
Registered
63 Posts
As I understand it there has to be a notice with details of the restriction, usually on posts on the pavement, as well as the yellow lines. Take some pictures and appeal!

·
Registered
6,302 Posts
This may help: http://www.parking-appeals.gov.uk/RegAndLeg/parkingRegu.asp
Is your road within a Controlled Parking Zone? From what that site says, thats the only time where a single yellow line doesn't need a sign to state the restriction. Also, check that there isn't a sign anywhere on the route of the single yellow line. If it extends around a corner, there could be a sign there.

One thing I will say though, if there are restrictions, its normally for a good reason, one of the main ones being to allow access for fire engines. I don't know about your road obviously, but if you were deamed to be causing an obstruction, I'd imagine you could get a ticket whether there was a sign or not.

·
Registered
3,283 Posts