SEAT Automobiles Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
2,822 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi
im a newbie so dont get miffed if this question gets asked alot but how the hell do you get rid of that heatshield rattle on the 97ish cupra sport?
And last question does anyone know the exact wheels specs for the 8v cupra ie i know its 15inch that run on 185/55 r15 but i dont know the wheel width or the offset as im getting some new ones any ideas?

Oh and can i say this is a spankin good site!

·
Registered
4,860 Posts
Glad you're enjoying the site!

I'm afraid I can't help you on the questions, but the guys will deffo get back to you on this one. The forums get busier once people get back to their PCs at work.

If you want to see a MK2 Cupra with a difference, go to the main page and check out the pictures of Cupra Dave's car!!!!

Abi ;)

·
Registered
3,273 Posts
the heatshield rattle is usually on the front pipe. it's a right pain in the ar*e but there are a few options.

new front pipe

removing front pipe and cutting heatshield off (u'd need 2 wrap it with some kind of heat prof tape coz it get's real hot and is close to a few sensor wires)

you could possibly get it welded back again, it's spot welded on and that's what breaks and causes the rattle

a couple of jubilee clips around the heatshield could pull it tighter and stop the rattle (worked on my 16v)

there's a few options 4 ya mayb one will work ;)

as 4 the wheels i can find out @ work about offsets etc coz it's all on the parts computer.

hope that's been of some help :)

·
Registered
3,273 Posts
not a prob :)

i'll find details on the wheels 2moz and post em up 4 ya ;)

in the meantime enjoy the site :)

G

·
Welcome Wee Man, feel free to make this your home, its a pretty friendly places and we are doing a special on 4 Bedroom Houses at the moment :D

Enjoy the site

·
Registered
173 Posts
Originally posted by Wee man
Hi